The Establishment and Competences
Functioning as a platform of good governance, the concept of consultation and participation have been an integral part of the vision of his Majesty Sultan Qaboos Bin Siad, Sultan of Oman at an early stage.  In his first speech to the citizens, His Majesty declared his political approach based on democracy derived from the Islamic teachings, values, and Omani heritage taking into consideration modern-day means and tools.  

  • The Consultative Council of the State

    Royal Decree No. 84/81 to establish the"Consultative Council of the State,” was a qualitative leap towards involving the citizens in decision making process. The number of members of the Council in its first term was (45), including 17 representing the public sector, ( 11) representing the private sector and (17) representing the different regions of the Sultanate. Then, a Royal Decree was issued in the second term to increase the number of members to 55 members. The Council continued conducting its business until the issuance of the Royal Decree to establish Majlis A’shura in 1991.

  • Majlis A’Shura

    Majlis A’Shura was established in November 12, 1991 to replace the Consultative Council of the State, which lasted from 1981 until 1991. This step was taken in the framework of the Sultan's desire to expand election base to include the various Wilayats of the Sultanate. Majlis A’Shura enjoys a legal personality and financial and administrative independence. It is based in Muscat Governorate. Majlis A’Shura includes representatives of the Sultanate's Wilayats who are elected by Omani citizens in a public election in which Omani women have the right to vote and run for election on an equal footing.

  • State Council

    The State Council was established after the issuance of the Royal Decree No. 86/97 on the establishment of Oman Council, which consists of the State and Shura Councils. It enjoys a legal personality and financial and administrative independence. It is composed of a number of members not exceeding the number of members of the Shura Council. They are appointed by a royal decree. It is one of the pillars of the Oman Council.

  • Oman Council

    Oman Council was established in 1997. It includes the State Council and Majlis A’Shura. The establishment of Oman Council aimed to enrich the process of development and building. It serves the public interest and contributes to providing a decent life for citizens. Legislative amendments were made in 2011 in which the Oman Council was granted more legislative and oversight powers. In 2011, the Council of Ministers was also reshuffled and seven members of Majlis A’Shura were appointed as ministers in the government for the first time.

Current rating: 4.5 (2 ratings)